Home Page

Stockton House School

A nature and nurture approach to active learning


As an ofsted registered Early Years provider we are required to follow the "Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation stage" (EYFS).  The EYFS is built around the following guiding principles:


  • Unique child: every child is a competent learner from birth, resilient, capable, confident, self-assured
  • Positive relationships: children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and key person
  • Enabling environments: supporting and extending children’s development and learning
  • Learning and development: children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates, all areas of learning are equally important and interconnected


The EYFS explains how and what your child will be learning to give them a firm foundation for a successful start to school.  Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 Areas of Development


Of these, children usually develop the 3 Prime Areas first.  These are:

  1. Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  2. Communication & Language
  3. Physical Development

As children grow these Prime Areas will help them to develop skills in the 4 Specific Areas:

  1. Literacy 
  2. Understanding the World
  3. Mathematics 
  4. Expressive Arts & Design


These 7 areas are used to plan your child's learning.  At Stockton House School we use a fun, play based approach to supporting learning and development in Early Years.  Learning is guided by exceptional staff who skilfully support children's learning and development through effective teaching.  Each child's learning and development is recorded and celebrated through their own unique learning journal.


For more information on the statutory requirments please read: